
Contact 
Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Davis Chat
Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service 
Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.
Government and Legal
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
Declassified Documents Reference System Online
"Covering major domestic and international events since the end of World War II, this collection of declassified material provides the foundation for research in political science, history, journalism, diplomacy, and international studies. Information relating to all major political and military events from every corner of the globe offers fascinating insights into U.S. government views, decisions, and activities." Materials from the FBI,CIA, Justice Dept., National Security Agency, State Dept. and White House.
Digital National Security Archive
"Containing the full text of more than 43,000 declassified documents (more than 300,000 pages), this is a significant collection of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945. It comprises 22 collections, including the Berlin crisis of 1958-1962, the Iran-Contra Affair, and Terrorism and U.S. Policy. The material varies from presidential memos to secret letters and from diplomatic dispatches to email, accompanied by reference and secondary material."
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is a comprehensive collection of legal research material that currently provides full-text of hundreds of legal periodicals. Also included are U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements (1950-1984), the Federal Register (1936-1992), Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (1977-2003), U.S. Reports (1790-2002), and Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the U.S. (1791-1982).
LexisNexis Congressional
"LexisNexis Congressional offers full-text of congressional bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, and the Congressional Record for recent years, as well as the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations. The United States Congressional Serial Set, simply called the Serial Set, is labeled Historical Full-Text in LexisNexis Congressional. Historical Full-Text will include the American State Papers, House and Senate Reports, House and Senate Documents, selected Executive Branch documents, other documents that Congress ordered printed, as well as all maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs found within the printed Serial Set. Monthly updates are provided and full coverage from 1789-1969 will be available by the end of December 2005."
LLMC Digital
The Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is a library cooperative housing the world's largest collection of legal literature and government documents in microform. This collection is being digitized and made available on the LLMC Digital site. Available publications include Presidential papers, decisions and reports of executive departments and independent agencies, treaties, U.S. Supreme Court Reports, U.S. Statutes at Large and much more.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/government_legal.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 08, 2010.

