On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
primarysource image

Contact  question icon

Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

Images and Maps

Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

AccuNet/AP Photo Archive
"The AccuNet/AP Photo Archive is a database of approximately 500,000 current and archived photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library. It is updated by an average of 800 contemporary photos each day. The best 200 of them are retained permanently in the database, while the rest are removed after 12 months. The Photo Archive's historical collection features notable figures and images from significant events of the 20th and, occasionally, the 19th centuries."

ARTstor
"ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.The ARTstor database is provided to the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries by a license agreement that restricts use of the images and text to authorized users and prohibits public distribution of the content. Therefore, you may not display ARTstor content on a web site that everyone can access on the Internet. However, the content may be displayed on password protected web sites, such as web sites in which access is given only to participants in a class. Instructors and class participants may display ARTstor content during a class lecture or presentation.

CAMIO
CAMIO, OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online, offers rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art programs, course web sites, lectures, presentations, and research.

Images of the American Civil War
This database of 50,000 images, includes photographic portraits of Civil War officers and enlisted men; recruitment posters from the North and South; illustrated envelopes and cartes-de-visite; etchings and engravings representing battle views and key historical events; and satiric cartoons from a wide range of periodicals.

Sanborn Maps North Carolina
"Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provide digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities from the late nineteenth through mid-twentieth centuries. Sanborn Maps were originally created to aid the insurance industry in assessing risk. They show towns at specific points in their history and provide detailed information on street layout, civic infrastructure, building type, building use, and ownership."

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/images_maps.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 08, 2010.