On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
primarysource image

Contact  question icon

Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service BLU Logo

Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.

General

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This page links to important documents for the study of American history from 1400 to the present. From the University of Kansas.

American Memory
"American Memory is a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections." Search or browse by topic, time period, geography, or format. From the Library of Congress.

Digital Schomburg
A selection of images and texts from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture. Collections include African American Women Writers of the 19th Century and Images of African Americans from the 19th Century.

Documenting the American South
"Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. DocSouth includes a growing suite of thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. From the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Library.

Women Working, 1800-1930
"Provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, and 1,200 photographs."

UNC-CH Libraries Digital Collections
Explore the rich resources of the UNC Chapel Hill Libraries in digital format, such as Hugh Morton's photographs, North Carolina maps, the Thomas Wolfe Collection, and the crucial North Carolina 1898 election.

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/online_digital_resources.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 08, 2010.