
Contact 
Robert Dalton
Librarian for History
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Tommy Nixon
Librarian for English/Comparative Literature
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Davis Chat
Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service 
Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.
Images and Maps
American Memory Project Maps Collection
The "Maps Collection" contains digital images of maps from the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division. These images are taken from sources that are not protected by copyright protection, such as maps and atlases, and are organized into a growing number of catagories, such as Civil War maps, panoramic maps, railroad maps, and national park maps.
David Rumsey Map Collection
This collection features maps of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries, although maps from other areas around world are included. Formats listed for the maps are "atlases, globes, school geographies, books, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps, including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript."
Images of African Americans from the Nineteenth Century
An image database of hundreds of drawings, etchings, paintings, and photographs accompanied by textual descriptions. These image databases are meant to complement and supplement the full text databases of writings by people of African descent which also are a part of the "Digital Schomburg" electronic database.
Images of Early Maps on the Web
A listing of over 1,200 sites with digitised images of early maps.
Perry-Castaneda Library
Map Collection
This website provides images of hundreds of maps in the public domain of the world's nations, major cities, state outlines, national park maps as well as thematic maps for high-interest topics.
Wikimedia Commons
Millions of online media files are stored in Wikimedia Commons. This database is freely accesible for anyone to use or contribute.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/online_images_maps.html
This page was last updated Monday, November 08, 2010.

