
Contact 
Robert Dalton
Reference Librarian
Davis Library
rdalton@email.unc.edu
(919)962-1151
Tommy Nixon
Humanities Librarian
Davis Library
tommy_nixon@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Davis Chat
Carolina BLU Campus Delivery Service 
Through the Carolina BLU Delivery Service, you can request to have books and articles available at any of the UNC-CH campus libraries, as well as books and articles requested through interlibrary loan, delivered to the campus library most convenient to you.
Oral and Personal History
Off-campus access is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries brings together more than 400 diaries, letters, and memoirs written by Northerners, Southerners, and foreign observers that reveal thousands of views on almost every aspect of the war.
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
"American Slavery: a Composite Autobiography database includes the life histories of former American slaves and the transcripts of actual slave interviews. This is an authoritative collection of Works Progress Administration (WPA) slave narratives and the Comprehensive Name Index for The American Slave on the Web."
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Culture, and the Environment, 1534 - 1850
Early Encounters documents the relationships among diverse peoples, including Dutch, English, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, African, and a host of Indian peoples, in North America from 1534 to 1850.
HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest Online is a collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. With original page images for all documents, this resource contains over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, and other expanding collections.
In the First Person
In the First Person provides in-depth indexing of more than 17,000 collections of oral history in English from around the world from the 1930s until 2000. Also included are entires from letters and diaries.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
"North American Women's Letters and Diaries is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials."
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/primarysources/oral_personal.html
This page was last updated Friday, September 18, 2009.

