On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
War Memorial

Menu  

Contact  question icon

Mike Van Fossen
Subject Librarian for Peace, War, and Defense
mvanfos@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

The Writing Center

Having trouble writing your paper? Get help at The Writing Center.

General E-Research Tools  article icon

Off-campus access to some resources is limited to UNC faculty, students, and staff.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Indexes over 2,700 journals and about 7,000 books each year; fields covered include anthropology, political science, sociology, and economics. [more info]

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International with ARCHIVE
A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. [more info]

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be the most complete source for theory and research in international affairs. [more info]

CQ Almanac
The best coverage and analysis of U.S. congressional legislation from 1945 to today. In-depth analysis of the path legislation
takes through Congress, including how bills are changed, derailed, or ultimately passed during an annual session of Congress. Browse by Topic: (1) Defense, National Security, Homeland Security; or (2)Foreign Policy and Intelligence.

CQ Researcher
Presents relevant issues, background and chronological development, varying viewpoints, and bibliographies for current topics, including Defense and National Security, International Relations and World Politics, and War and Conflict. [more info]

Encyclopedia of War & American Society
This online encyclopedia includes substantial essays on the wars Americans have fought, their civilian and military leaders, and their major military institutions.

Congressional Research Service Reports
Reports on various public policy issues written by researchers working for members of the U.S. Congress. Those included on this website (hosted by the Federation of American Scientists) relate to national security and foreign policy. Additional CRS reports from 1916-2003 are available through LexisNexis Congressional.

Academic Search Premier
This multidiscplinary database features full-text for over 4,000 journals with many dating back to 1975, abstracts and indexing for over 8,200 scholarly journals, and coverage of The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times and The Christian Science Monitor. It also includes coverage of over 6,800 peer-reviewed journals. [more info]

Rand Publications Database
Full text of papers and reports of the RAND research organization on topics such as national security, international affairs, militry-personnel, weapons, etc.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. [more info]

More Article Databases | How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text? | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


Statistics

Stats Datafinder -- Military
Links collected by UNC librarians to online sources of statistical data dealing with the military.

Warfare and armed conflicts : a statistical reference to casualty and other figures, 1494-2007

Search for Books book image

Subjectsearches in the library catalog.

Search the Catalog

   

Catalog | Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/pwad/index.html
This page was last updated Thursday, August 11, 2011.