On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
Stats Image

Menu


Contact  question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
moss@unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

David G. Ernsthausen
Research Support Librarian
Kenan-Flagler Business School
david_ernsthausen@unc.edu
(919) 962-8749

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Articles and Reports

Business Source Complete
Provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business; marketing, management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. (available to all residents of NC through NC LIVE)

BizMiner
Provides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Includes, industry financial profiles, area demographic profiles, business failure rate........

IBISWorld Industry Research
A comprehensive source of information and analysis on industries. It provides 30-40 page reports covering industry conditions and performance, key sensitivities and success factors, segmentation, size, and outlook.
(Off-campus access for UNC students, faculty, and staff only)

NetAdvantage
A comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes S&P's Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys, with peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format.
(Off-campus access for UNC students, faculty, and staff only)

Valuation Resources
A largely free resource guide to business valuation resources, industry and company information, economic data, and more. Covers over 250 industries.

Company Directories

ReferenceUSA Business, Residential, Healthcare & TechUSA
ReferenceUSA Business provides detailed directory information for millions of U.S. businesses. This directory allows you to search more than 12 million business listings by company name, yellow page headings, NAICS and SIC codes, executive names, sales volume, number of employees, and stock exchange ticker symbols. Use this resource to find similar businesses in a specific area, details on possible competitors, and also for finding companies with a specified geographic radius. (available to all residents of NC through NC LIVE)

ThomasNet
ThomasNet is a free comprehensive directory of manufacturers and products, and a premier source of product information for U.S. and Canadian manufacturing companies. Ideal to find critical components, locate suppliers, and track down brand names.

More Company Information

Economic Data and Statistics 

Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. government resources that provides overviews, forecasts and statistics related to careers, employment, health and safety, and wages in industries. Includes a Resource for Business Leaders with information on costs, wages and benefits, new consumer products, and international business, as well as a resource for industry comparisons.

U.S. Census Bureau: Economic Census
Provides a detailed portrait of the U.S. economy with a large collection of statistics collected once every five years.

SBA Office of Advocacy
"The voice for small business in the Federal Government and the source for small business statistics" from the United States Small Business Association. This resource includes links to relevant laws and regulations, news, statistics, and more. Materials published annually on this site include small business profiles for each of the 50 states and U.S. territories, quarterly small business indicators, and The Small Business Economy - a book-length report on small business.



More Business Databases |  How Do I Find Articles? | How Do I Find an Article if it is not Full-Text?  | How Do I Distinguish Different Types of Journals?


 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/small_business/industry.html
This page was last updated Monday, April 08, 2013.