On a mobile device? Visit http://www.lib.unc.edu/m/
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill University Libraries logo
University Libraries banner
image of book and glasses

Find Info About...

Contact  question icon

Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
Davis Library
moss@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151

Davis Chat

Chat requires JavaScript.

Interlibrary Loan Library Logo

Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias

computer iconBlackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ritzer, George, editor. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., c2007.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology comprises about 1,800 commissioned entries on all aspects of the discipline of sociology. The entries, grouped into 33 editorial areas, will range from short notes to extended essays, and will cover both contemporary knowledge and classical sociology.

computer iconbook iconEncyclopedia of Sociology. 2nd ed. Borgatta, Edgar F., and Rhonda J.V. Montgomery. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
Four-volume set with 370 entries. Entries are often several pages long and include extensive reference lists. Useful for beginning and advanced sociologists.
Davis Reference and Undergrad Library HM425 .E5 2000

book iconInternational Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. Amsterdam; New York: Elsevier, 2001.
This 26 volume set covers a broad range of the social and behavioral sciences from an international perspective, including 197 articles from the field of sociology. Includes contributions from nearly 4,000 authors. Volumes 1-24 are alphabetized by entry; Volume 25 is a name index; Volume 26 is a subject index.
Davis Reference H 41 .I58 2001

computer iconInternational Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Darity, William A., Jr., editor. 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, c2008.
Comprised of eight volumes and over 4,000 pages, this encyclopedia contains more than 3,000 entries by 1,200+ authors covering the social sciences. Browse the table of contents and index, or search by keyword.

RETURN TO TOP

Dictionaries

computer iconThe Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology. Johnson, Allan G. Oxford, OX, UK ; Malden, Mass., USA: Blackell Publishers, 2000.
This second edition of Allan G. Johnson's one-volume dictionary includes 75 new entries, as well as an expanded biographical section, extensive revisions and updates, and more thorough cross-referencing.

computer iconbook iconDictionary of Sociology. 3rd. ed. Scott, John and Gordon Marshall, editors. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
This dictionary is comprised of 2,500+ entries covering a range of international concepts, methods, and terms. Entries from other disciplines relevant to sociology are included, such as anthropology, psychology, and political science. Clear and detailed descriptions make this a useful tool for those new to the field of sociology or for more advanced students and teachers. Includes cross-references and recommended reading. Viewing this source electronically makes for easy searching and hyperlinked cross-references.
Davis Reference HM425 .D5735 2005

RETURN TO TOP

 

Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/sociology/encycdict.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, November 25, 2008.