
Find Info About...
Contact 
Rita W. Moss
Business/Economics Librarian
Davis Library
moss@email.unc.edu
(919) 962-1151
Davis Chat
Interlibrary Loan 
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Statistical Resources at UNC
ICPSR Direct
"The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
(ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of computer readable social science data. The ICPSR data holdings contain some 6,300 studies and 500,000 files
that cover a wide range of social science areas such as population, economics, education, health, social and political behavior, social and
political attitudes, history, crime, aging, and substance abuse."
LexisNexis Statistical
Provides indexing and abstracts from three databases: American Statistics Index (ASI), Statistical Reference Index (SRI), and Index to International Statistics (IIS). The databases can be searched individually or as a group. Be sure to read over the "Search Tips" at the bottom of the start page to maximize your search ability.
Roper Center iPOLL
This full-text database of over 500,000 questions from national public opinion surveys contains coverage from 1935 to present and is comprised of information from Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Some data is available for download in SPSS and ASCII.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition
"This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present."
Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL)
Provides access to data sets from more than 200 studies in nine topically-focused collections: AIDS/STDs, disability in the U.S., American family, adolescent pregnancy and pregnancy prevention, aging, maternal drug abuse, child well-being and poverty, complementary and alternative medicine, and a contextual data archive. Each study includes data files, documentation and SAS and SPSS set up files.
Data Services at Davis Reference
Guides researchers in identifying, evaluating, and accessing numeric data.
Odum Institute for Research in Social Science at UNC-Chapel Hill
"The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest and largest catalogs of machine-readable data in the U.S. It has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most complete holdings for 1970 Census files. Other major sources of data include the North Carolina State Data Center, which distributes North Carolina census data, and the National Center for Health Statistics." (from Odum website)
Statistical Resources on the Web
American FactFinder
An easy-to-use tool that provides US Census data from 1990 to the present. Access data from the Decennial Census (1990 and 2000), the Economic Census (1997 and 2002), Annual Population Estimates (2005-06), Annual Economic Surveys (2003-05), and American Community Survey as they become available.
NationMaster.com
A free, web-based database with a massive amount of information on the world's countries. Data can be viewed by each country (see "Countries A-Z") or by category (see "Statistics"). Indicates sources for all data.
ChildStats.gov
Offers statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education.
LINC (Log Into North Carolina)
This resource provides a broad array of statistical data for North Carolina, including education, energy and utilities, court and corrections, vital statistics and health, etc. Includes historical data back to the 1960s and projections to 2030s. This resource indexes more than 1300 federal and state resources.
Need Help? Ask a Librarian
Suggestions on Library Services? Give us your feedback.
URL: http://www.lib.unc.edu/subjectguides/sociology/stats.html
This page was last updated Tuesday, November 25, 2008.

